Cold Starts, Batteries & Jump Starters
HULKMAN Alpha85 Review
The pack that put a screen on a jump starter. Whether that screen is worth the premium depends entirely on how often you expect to use it, which is a question most reviews skip.

The Alpha85 publishes 2000A peak, an 8.5L gas ceiling and a 6.0L diesel ceiling, a 3.3 inch status display, and a 65W charger that takes it to 80 percent in an hour. It is a good pack. If you want those engine ceilings and nothing else, you can have them for roughly half the money.
What it publishes
One line in that table matters more than the rest and it is the blank one. A pack sold for winter mornings does not state the temperature range it works across. Nothing in this category does, which is a conspicuous silence rather than an oversight, and it is why the storage advice further down is not optional.
The screen, which is the actual product
Every other pack in this price range communicates through a few colored LEDs. You learn the code or you guess. The Alpha85 has a 3.3 inch screen that states operating status, charge level and fault conditions in words and numbers.
Whether that is worth the premium comes down to something uncomfortable: how often do you expect to use this? A jump pack is bought in hope of never needing it. For a tool used once every two winters, at night, cold, possibly by somebody else, a screen that says what is wrong instead of blinking twice is worth a lot. For a tool you will use monthly, you will learn the LED code in a week and the screen stops mattering.
That is the honest frame. The screen is not performance. It is legibility under stress, and its value scales with how rarely you use the thing.
65W charging is the underrated feature
Zero to eighty percent in an hour sounds like a convenience spec and behaves like a capability one. The failure case for a jump pack is not that it lacks power - it is that it was flat when you reached for it, because nobody remembers to charge a thing they never use.
A pack that recovers usefully in the time it takes to have breakfast is a pack you can rescue on the morning you need it. A pack that needs most of a day is not. This is the same argument that puts fast charging ahead of raw capacity on the main roundup.
The listing also carries a maintenance note worth repeating, because it is the maker admitting a limitation: recharge it at least every three months, and avoid extreme temperatures when charging or storing.
How it behaves in cold, honestly
We have not tested this pack at temperature and we are not going to pretend otherwise. What can be said from the published specification and from lithium chemistry generally:
- A lithium cell delivers less current as it cools. That is chemistry, it applies to every pack on this site, and the Alpha85 is not exempt.
- The maker publishes no cold operating range, so there is no figure to hold them to.
- The listing explicitly warns against charging or storing at extreme temperatures, which is a clear signal about where this pack should live: indoors.
The practical consequence is the same for the Alpha85 as for a forty dollar pack. Keep it in the cabin. Lithium vs lead-acid covers why this is the defining weakness of the whole category.
What it is up against
Being fair to the alternatives is the point of a review. On the number that decides whether a pack starts your car, the Alpha85 is matched or nearly matched by packs costing much less.
Read that table as a buyer rather than an enthusiast. If the diesel ceiling is what you need, the GOOLOO gets you to the same 6.0L for a fraction of the money. If you want more than 6.0L diesel, the Alpha85 is not the pack - the GBX75 is, and it costs more. The Alpha85 occupies the middle and justifies it with usability rather than capability.
Do notbuy it for the amp number
2000A is not a regulated figure and packs at a third of this price claim more. If peak amps is what is drawing you to this pack, you are being persuaded by the one number in the category that has no test behind it. Buy it for the screen, the charging speed and the build - or buy something cheaper.
Who should buy it, and who should not
- Buy it if this pack will sit unused for long stretches and you want the version that tells you what is happening when you finally need it at 6am.
- Buy it if somebody else in the household may have to use it, and a screen saying what is wrong beats a blink code they have never seen.
- Do not buy it if you are shopping on engine rating alone. The ceilings are available for much less.
- Do not buy it if your engine is above 6.0L diesel. It is outside the published rating and no screen changes that.
The verdict
A well-specified pack whose premium buys legibility and charging speed, not starting power. That is a real thing to pay for on a tool used rarely and under stress - and it is a poor reason to pay double if what you actually need is a published diesel ceiling and nothing more. Check your engine size first, then decide whether the screen is worth the difference to you.
What to buy, and what to skip
We haven't tested these
No lab, no borrowed units, no free samples. What we did do: pull every published spec into one table and work out what the numbers mean on a cold morning. Everything below traces to a published spec sheet, a manual, or a standard we can point you at - and if a figure isn't published, we say so instead of estimating it. The full method is here.
Heads up: we earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes a ranking - here is how we pick and how the site is funded.
1. The pack reviewed here
HULKMAN Alpha85 Portable Jump Starter, 2000A

A 3.3 in screen showing charge state and error codes. At 6am in the dark, a device that tells you why it is refusing to do anything is worth the extra bulk.
Best for: Seeing what is going on
What the maker publishes
- Peak current
- 2000A
- Engine rating
- Up to 8.5L gas, 6.0L diesel
- Jump starts per charge
- Up to 60, per HULKMAN
- Display
- 3.3 in screen for status, battery level and errors
- Operating temperature range
- Not published by the maker
What works
- The screen removes the guesswork that makes jump starters frustrating - it tells you whether the clamps are wrong or the pack is flat
- 60 jumps per charge is the highest published figure here
- 8.5L gas rating covers anything you are likely to be standing next to
What doesn't
- A screen is another thing to fail, and cold LCDs get sluggish
- No published operating temperature range on the listing
Skip this if: you want the smallest thing that works. NOCO makes a smaller pack and you will be more likely to keep it in the car.
2. Same ceilings, less money
GOOLOO GP2000 Portable Car Battery Jump Starter, 2000A

8.0L gas and 6.0L diesel published, at a price that undercuts every other pack with those numbers by a wide margin. If the diesel figure is what you are shopping for, this is the cheapest honest route to it.
Best for: Diesel on a budget
What the maker publishes
- Peak amps
- 2000A
- Gas engines
- Up to 8.0L, per the maker
- Diesel engines
- Up to 6.0L, per the maker
- Weight
- 1.2 lb
- Size
- 7.4 x 3.9 x 1.5 in
- Protections
- 10, with all-metal clamps
- Jumps per charge
- Not published by the maker
What works
- A 6.0L diesel ceiling at this price is the single best spec-per-dollar figure in this list
- 1.2 lb and barely thicker than a phone, so the cabin-storage rule is easy to follow
- All-metal clamps rather than the plastic-bodied clamps that crack after a couple of winters
What doesn't
- No published jumps-per-charge figure, so you cannot tell how much reserve is left after one start
- No published cold-operating range - same silence as everything else here
- A less established name than NOCO, and the warranty terms are not stated on the listing
Skip this if: you want the longest track record rather than the best numbers. NOCO has been doing this longer.
3. The established alternative
NOCO Boost GB50 1500A UltraSafe Lithium Jump Starter

Half again the current of the GB40 for the same handling. Cold cranking is where headroom stops being a spec-sheet number and starts being whether the engine turns.
Best for: Bigger engines and colder mornings
What the maker publishes
- Peak current
- 1500A
- Engine rating
- Up to 7.0L gas, 4.5L diesel
- Jump starts per charge
- Up to 30, per NOCO
- Safety
- Spark-proof connections, reverse polarity protection
- Extras
- 200-lumen LED with seven modes including SOS and strobe
What works
- Headroom is the point: a cold engine is thicker oil and a weaker battery at the same time, and both eat current
- 30 jumps per charge means it survives a season of lending it to neighbors
- 4.5L diesel rating covers most half-ton diesel pickups
What doesn't
- Costs meaningfully more than the GB40 for capability most sedans will never use
- Same lithium cold-performance caveat as every lithium pack here
Skip this if: you drive a four-cylinder commuter car. The GB40 is smaller, cheaper and enough.
Questions people actually ask
Is the HULKMAN Alpha85 worth it?
It is worth it if the pack will sit unused for long stretches and you value a screen that states the fault instead of a blink code, plus 65W charging that recovers it in an hour. It is not worth it if you are buying on engine rating alone - those ceilings cost much less elsewhere.
What engines can the Alpha85 start?
The maker publishes up to 8.5L gas and up to 6.0L diesel. Above 6.0L diesel it is outside its rating, and a larger pack is the honest answer.
How long does the Alpha85 take to charge?
The maker states zero to eighty percent in one hour using the supplied 65W charger. That matters more than it sounds, because the common failure of a jump pack is being flat when you reach for it.
Does the Alpha85 work in extreme cold?
The maker publishes no cold operating range, and the listing advises against charging or storing at extreme temperatures. Like every lithium pack, it delivers less current as it cools, so keep it in the cabin rather than the trunk.
Is the Alpha85 better than a NOCO?
It has a higher published gas ceiling than the GB50 and a lower diesel ceiling than the GBX75, plus a screen neither has. On starting capability alone it sits between them; the screen and the charging speed are what you are paying the difference for.